About Plant Pathology

The Department of Plant Pathology is one of only 12 remaining departments dedicated solely to the discipline of plant pathology.  

Partnerships with educational, state, federal, public and private sectors enable plant pathologists to provide dynamic programs that are ecologically sound, economically and environmentally sustainable, socially responsible and scientifically appropriate.  In September 2018, Dr. Loren Giesler became Plant Pathology's Department Head. For more information about Dr. Giesler's research interests and background, see his Faculty Information page.

Current bylaws for the Department of Plant Pathology were adopted in 2007 and are presently being updated. A list of committees and their representatives for the Department of Plant Pathology was updated in 2022.  In order to foster a positive environment within the Department of Plant Pathology, a code of conduct was approved in 2020.  The department also created a set of guidelines for Promotion & Tenure (adopted in July 2020) in accordance with UNL policies and procedures.  Other resources can be found throughout the website or on the Student Resources page.

Plant Pathology faculty